Skip to main content
Browse Documentation

Content type versioning

Created by Contensis product team, last modified by r.bromley on 20 Aug 2020

All changes to a content type are recorded in a version history. The version number will reflect the workflow state that the content type is in. When a content type is first created its version number will be 0.1.

Saving a content type

Each time a change is made to a content type and saved, the minor version number is incremented and the changes are recorded in a version history.

For example, adding a field to a newly created content type and pressing Save would increment the version number from 0.1 to 0.2.

Publishing a content type

When a content type is ready for publishing, pressing Publish in the Content type builder will change the major version number.

For example, having added all my fields to a newly created content type and saved it, pressing Publish increments the version number from 0.2 to 1.0 and changes the workflow state of the content type to Published.