Skip to main content
Browse Documentation

Change the workflow of a content type

Created by Contensis product team, last modified by r.saunders on 12 Feb 2021

Depending on your organisation, different content will likely be assigned to different workflows. By default all content types are assigned to the basic workflow, but a workflow can easily be changed to another type.

  1. Open the content type you want to change the workflow for by selecting the content type in the Content type listing screen.
  2. When the Content type builder opens, the settings for the content type will be displayed in the Details panel.
  3. Scroll down to the workflow section and change the workflow from one type to another.
  4. Press Save followed by Publish to save your changes.

What happens to entries that are assigned to a new workflow?

Basic to approval

If you change the workflow of a content type from the Basic workflow to the Approval workflow the entry states will remain the same.

Approval to basic

If you change from the Approval workflow to the Basic workflow and there are entries in states which do not exist, such as Awaiting approval,  then these entries will be moved to Work in progress.